How to open the heart chakra in a minute and heal this energy center.

By now, you should be able to work on your first three chakras.  It is important that you work on the first three lowermost chakras because they are so essential for an individual. They are said to be the chakras of survival (if no, I invited to take a look on the following article and find out; their meaning, their benefits and as well as their symptoms).  Moving to the center of our chest is our fourth chakra also known as the heart chakra or the Anahata.

What is the meaning of the heart chakra or Anahata?

Leaving the third chakra ignited, we now rise to the heart to find a green lotus of twelve petals called anahata meaning unstuck or unhurt, and flawless. Its symbol also consists of two triangles (upward and downward) intertwined to form a star. The overlapping triangles represent the air element and also symbolize the merging of superficially opposite principles or types of energies, such as male and female; spirit and matter. The star that they form brings out the joining of forces and enforces the function of the heart chakra as a center of unification and connection. It forms parts of the thymus gland of the endocrine system. The heart chakra holds the heart’s eye; it is green in color and sits at the center of our chest. The heart’s eye is the doorway to understand things operating from the love center. It helps us to be in harmony, to be able to give and receive love, to be able to communicate, socialized, care for the nature, and feel supported in a balanced manner. So the color green here represents the plant kingdom- all the chlorophyll of the green earth which we lives on. The anahata is where your love, compassion and kindness are empowered.

Here is some more information about the heart chakra:

  • Aroma  – Lavender, Jasmine
  • Crystals/Gemstones – Angelite, Rose Quartz, Jade, Emeralds
  • Essential oils/spices- Sandalwood, Eucalyptus, Lime, Basil, Sage, Cayenne
  • Metal – Gold
  • Sense – Touch
  • Element – Air

Why it is important to open, activate and balance the heart chakra?

The heart chakra is perfectly situated in the middle of the chest, balancing the world of matter- the lower three chakra- with the world of spirit which are the upper three chakras. It is important for one to heal the heart chakra as it is the heart of all chakras since emotions are the key to clarity, love, support and balance. When this chakra is balanced, one is able to feel compassion, emotional security, able to forgive and maintain good relationships. Energies such as guilt, feeling hurt should be move down to the element of fire which is the solar plexus chakra, and allowing our heart chakra to be clear of negative emotions. The acceptance of healing will make our heart chakra remain in balance, thus reflecting back love and harmony. The vocal toning of this chakra is “YAM”.

Symptoms of an imbalance or blocked heart chakra or Anahata

It is important to know that if we have not experienced security, intimacy and self-esteem in the lower chakras, the heart chakra or Anahata remains closed and shielded. Therefore one could face some issues in life and affect different organs or systems. Below is a list of issues or emotions someone may face because there is a lack of energy in this center:

  1. Lack of compassion
  2. Anger
  3. Hatred
  4. Stinginess
  5. Self- protection
  6. Fear of loving too much
  7. Heart-ache
  8. Being heart broken
  9. Sorrow
  10. Jealousy
  11. Judgment
  12. Resentment
  13. Feeling of shyness
  14. Loneliness
  15. Inability to forgive
  16. A lack of empathy
  17. Loss of feelings of love for the self as well as others
  18. Feel cold

A deficiency of this chakra may result problems in different organs or systems such as:

  • Heart and circulatory system
  • The pulmonary system
  • The immune system
  • Upper back
  • Shoulders and arms

Opening, healing and balancing the heart chakra

Healing and balancing the heart chakra can vary depending on one’s own state. Most people have a, somewhat, open Anahata chakras, unless they are sociopaths. The feeling of love and happiness are originally created at the manipura chakra and rise to the anahata chakra. Using sound to enable and activate the heart chakra can be very helpful for the healing and cleansing of this powerful energetic center. Healing the heart chakra involves paying attention first to the wounds that are still lurking in the lower chakra. Learning to love ourselves and our shadow places is the first step towards creating, a sense of love and compassion for others. When one is able to forgive, a deep healing has been done within the heart chakra. Below are some tips on how to balance and heal the heart or Anahata chakra:

  • Visualization
  • Yoga such as Bhakti yoga; the camel pose
  • Tonglen meditation
  • Everything that brings spiritual clarity to the mind activates the heart chakra.
  • The more unconditional love or clear love we feel, the more it is activated.
  • Gratitude is a powerful way to activate and heal this power center.
  • Your everyday life affects or heals your heart chakra, depending on the general behavior or choices in life.
  • A very powerful way to heal the heart chakra is to be open with your emotions. This means you have to write them down or scream it out loud, the goal is to let them go. It is important that you are extremely honest and open with every word, do not hold anything back. Writing from the heart is always painful but is part of the healing process. It can be so powerful and helpful when you put your feelings into words so that you become more comfortable and at peace with yourself.
  • Live in the present moment, don’t dwell in the past.
  • Always remember that LOVE is the greatest healer.
  • Eat more green leafy and vegetables.
  • Drinking green tea can be helpful.

Benefits of having a heart chakra or Anahata that is activated and balanced are:

  1. Love
  2. Compassion
  3. Devotion
  4. Generosity
  5. Universal compassion
  6. The sense that we are connected to all beings on the planet
  7. Feel our heart touched by images of young children
  8. Sense of caring, both for ourselves and others
  9. Able to forgive
  10. Emotional security
  11. Loving kindness
  12. Empathy
  13. Humanity
  14. Self-acceptance
  15. Intuitive feeling
  16. Balance in life
  17. Healthy relationships


  • I am a being of love and I radiate this love to myself and everyone
  • As I focus on this intense green light that radiates from my heart, I notice the green gem that lies within and I am reminded of the unconditional love that I am.
  • I know that I am worth loving.
  • I am who I am and I am proud of whom I am in this space of love.
  • I release from my life anyone that does not bring me joy.
  • I choose to be surrounded by positive, loving and successful people.
  • I love myself more with each breath that I take and I love unconditionally!
  • I take opening my heart to the opening door of my mind, to love, compassion and self-acceptance.

“When your heart speaks, take good notes.” – Judith Campbell

Now that you have opened up your heart and are feeling all the positive emotions, we shall move to the throat chakra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *